Rulemaking Process Started to Change C.E. Requirements
|LDA Events and Continuing Education Calendar|
|Online C.E.||Any Time||Any Location|
|Last Chance Seminar||Dec. 8, 2017||Marriott, Baton Rouge, LA|
|L.H. Bowden Leadership Development Conference||January 12, 2018||Renaissance, Baton Rouge, LA|
|Winter C.E. - C.E. with Character
at Walt Disney World® Resort
|Feb. 11-13, 2018|| Lake Buena Vista, Florida
at Disney's BoardWalk Inn
|LDA House of Delegates||March 24, 2018||The Marriott, Baton Rouge, LA|
|New Orleans Dental Conference/LDA Annual Session||May 24-26, 2018||Hyatt Regency Hotel,
New Orleans, LA
|Summer Education Conference||June 20-23, 2018||Hilton Pensacola Beach
Gulf Front, FL
|LDA Foundation Fishing Rodeo||July 13-14, 2018||Sand Dollar Marina, Grand Isle, LA|
|Last Chance Seminar 2018||Dec. 7, 2018||TBA, Baton Rouge, LA|
|Mardi Gras 2019||Cruise - TBA|
|Mardi Gras 2020||Lake Buena Vista, Florida
Walt Disney World® Resort
Thanks to Our Events Partners
(as of 5-17-17)
|Premier Events Partner||Premier Events Partner
||Premier Events Partner|
|Sustaining Events Partner|
Approved PACE Program Provider
Approval does not imply acceptance
by a state or provincial board of
dentistry or AGD endorsement
7/1/2017 to 6/30/2020
Provider ID# 219248
New State Requirements for Those Writing Prescriptions for Schedule Drugs
There is a NEW State mandate requiring 3 hours of opioid prescribing and abuse awareness C.E. for those doctors holding a controlled dangerous substance license permitting them to prescribe schedule drugs. The 3-hour course must be completed sometime between Aug. 1, 2017, and the first time you renew your license after Jan. 1, 2018, and must include drug diversion training, best practice prescribing of controlled substances, appropriate treatment for addiction, and any other matters regarding the prescribing of controlled dangerous substances that are deemed appropriate by the board. According to current law, you will never have to take the course again. Note: The LDA’s Last Chance Seminar (www.ladental.org/lastchance) Dec. 8, 2017, will satisfy this requirement.
At its Friday, Aug. 18, 2017, LA State Board of Dentistry meeting, the LSBD voted to begin the rulemaking process in order to change C.E. requirements. For dentists renewing licenses at the end of 2018 and thereafter, 30 hours will be required every 2 years, and all 30 hours must be clinical. Further, 20 of the 30 hours must be obtained in person (not online C.E.).
We impose a surcharge of 2.25% on the transaction amount on credit card products, which is not greater than our cost of acceptance.
Automated Clearing House (ACH) payments, better known as automatic withdrawals for dues, from checking and savings accounts will continue to be accepted by the LDA via the ACH Network without a convenience fee. The LDA will also continue to accept check payments via mail or in person without a surcharge.
Delivery Method & Timing of Payments
On-line event registrations and dues payments are processed when submitted. An on-line confirmation will display once the payment process has been approved.
Refunds will be given with the approval of the LDA. In the unlikely event a meeting is cancelled, all C.E. registration fees will be refunded, less proportional costs of materials already produced and distributed.